Category Archives

Archive | Desserts RSS feed for this section

Mary Kay Andrews’s Hello, Summer Lemon Bars

Mary Kay Andrews’s Hello, Summer Lemon Bars Hello, Summer is set in a small, sleepy Florida town. When people think of Florida, they think of bright, sunny skies, and delicious citrus and these lemon bars are the perfect way to celebrate that! As a native Floridian, my lust for lemons—indeed any citrus, is, excuse the pun, deep-rooted. […]

Read More

Alka Joshi: The Palace Recipe for Royal Rabri from The Henna Artist

In this scene from THE HENNA ARTIST, Lakshmi, a woman who paints henna on the bodies of Jaipur’s wealthy women, is asked to meet with the Dowager Maharani for the first time. Malik, Lakshmi’s eight-year-old helper, has been told to wait outside the Maharani’s drawing room, but can’t resist sticking his head inside when the […]

Read More

Heidi Diehl’s Hinterkopf Geburtstagskuchen (Birthday Cake)

      In Lifelines, Louise falls in love with German drummer Dieter Hinterkopf when she travels from  Oregon to Düsseldorf to study art in 1971. The Hinterkopf Geburtstagskuchen is Dieter’s family‘s traditional birthday cake. Louise’s mother-in-law, Hannelore, instructs Louise to make the cake for her Dieter, part of the complicated family history that Hannelore shares. The […]

Read More

Sarah McCoy: Marilla’s Plum Puffs from MARILLA OF GREEN GABLES

Marilla is renowned for her Plum Puffs in both Anne of Green Gables and in Marilla of Green Gables. In Marilla of Green Gables, readers discover how Marilla comes to learn the recipe and the special people she bakes with and for. From the recipe collection of author Sarah McCoy, borrowed from Aunt Maud’s Recipe Book: From the Kitchen […]

Read More

Jodi Picoult’s “A Spark of Light” Missisippi Mud Cake

        Jodi Picoult chose a Mississippi Mud Cake to pair with a book club discussion of her novel A Spark of Light, set in Mississippi. Mississippi mud cakes and pies are thought to be named for the rich dark mud lining the banks of the Mississippi River. This cake recipe, adapted from Down Home: Treasured […]

Read More

Almost Certainly Not A Pie for #Pieathalon

  We relish the chance to experiment with vintage recipes and Dinner is Served 1972’s #Pieathalon promised a great opportunity to test a pie from the past. Over twenty bloggers swapped pie recipes from pre-1990 cookbooks for the event.  We received “Almost a Pie” from a 1978 Weight Watchers Hot Stuff Recipe pamphlet from Mimi at Once Upon a […]

Read More

#TheLostFamilySupperClub Recap and Menu

  As fans of food and book bloggers, we knew they would have some creative approaches to recipes inspired by The Lost Family, author Jenna Blum‘s new novel. On June 3, we hosted #TheLostFamilySupperClub:  a gathering of eighteen bloggers at a virtual dinner party to celebrate the book’s release, sharing novel-inspired recipes and creating mouth-watering menus. It was […]

Read More

Tara Westover’s Grandma-over-in-town’s Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies with EDUCATED

In Tara Westover’s memoir Educated, she recalls her Grandma-over-in-town baking Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies, and she shared her grandmother’s recipe with us for book clubs and readers to enjoy. In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated is an unforgettable memoir about a young girl who kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family, and […]

Read More

That’s What She Said Kleinur (Icelandic Pastries) recipe

  Iceland is the No. 1 country in the world for gender equality, and while researching That’s What She Said: What Men Need to Know (and Women Need to Tell Them) About Working Together in Iceland, I quickly became addicted to kleinur, a traditional Icleandic confection.  Flavored with cardamom, they are similar to crullers or twisted doughnuts, and […]

Read More

THE WEIGHT OF INK Menu and Jumbal Cakes Recipe from Rachel Kadish

Shortly after I finished writing The Weight of Ink, a friend surprised me with a meal made up of foods that related to the different parts of the novel. It was a supremely thoughtful gift, and of course a fun way to savor finishing the book. In the spirit of my friend’s gift — and […]

Read More