Tag Archives

Tag Archives | book club

Heidi Diehl’s Hinterkopf Geburtstagskuchen (Birthday Cake)

      In Lifelines, Louise falls in love with German drummer Dieter Hinterkopf when she travels from  Oregon to Düsseldorf to study art in 1971. The Hinterkopf Geburtstagskuchen is Dieter’s family‘s traditional birthday cake. Louise’s mother-in-law, Hannelore, instructs Louise to make the cake for her Dieter, part of the complicated family history that Hannelore shares. The […]

Read More

Five-Spice Meatballs & Eggplant in Tomato Sauce

In What We Owe by Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde, while living as an Iranian refugee in Sweden, Nahid looks back on growing up in Iran and her life as a “young person with great potential.” She reminisces about the summer nights cooking in the kitchen with her mom and her six sisters when they were preparing food […]

Read More

Jodi Picoult’s “A Spark of Light” Missisippi Mud Cake

        Jodi Picoult chose a Mississippi Mud Cake to pair with a book club discussion of her novel A Spark of Light, set in Mississippi. Mississippi mud cakes and pies are thought to be named for the rich dark mud lining the banks of the Mississippi River. This cake recipe, adapted from Down Home: Treasured […]

Read More

Max’s Manhattan Cocktail Recipe from Sold on a Monday

In my latest historical novel, Sold on a Monday, I was thrilled to include a swanky  New York supper club from my previous book, The Edge of Lost—along with a cameo from a certain underworld character. Hence, to celebrate the end of Prohibition, I hope your book club will love the sweet Italian twist of the […]

Read More

Amber Brock’s Lady Be Good Hemingway Daiquiri

Set in the 1950s, Lady Be Good marks Amber Brock’s mesmerizing return, sweeping readers into the world of Kitty Tessler,  the mischievous, status-obsessed daughter of a hotel magnate, and the electric nightlife of three iconic cities: New York, Miami, and Havana. “This daiquiri was Ernest Hemingway’s favorite Cuban drink, and he tended to prefer doubles. For Kitty […]

Read More

Amy Poeppel’s LIMELIGHT Goat Cheese Phyllo Tortes from Pascalou

Limelight is an incisive, uproarious, and heartfelt story about the allure of Broadway and the magic of New York City, as a new Manhattanite and mother of three finds an unexpected opportunity that she’s perfectly suited for, but that just might turn her—and her family’s—world upside down. “Limelight is a book that celebrates New York City, its theater, […]

Read More

Mark Sullivan’s Beneath a Scarlet Sky Sicilian Broccoli and Sausage Recipe

               “I just finished reading Mark Sullivan’s Beneath A Scarlet Sky, an incredible novel.  There is a dish mentioned in the book for Sausage, Broccoli and Garlic that has me salivating.  The main character savors this dish. The book is set during World War II Italy and even the […]

Read More

Tara Westover’s Grandma-over-in-town’s Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies with EDUCATED

    In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated is an unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University. I was spending the afternoon with Grandma-over-in-town. I’d had a bath that morning, even though it wasn’t Sunday, and […]

Read More

That’s What She Said Kleinur (Icelandic Pastries) recipe

  Iceland is the No. 1 country in the world for gender equality, and while researching That’s What She Said: What Men Need to Know (and Women Need to Tell Them) About Working Together in Iceland, I quickly became addicted to kleinur, a traditional Icleandic confection.  Flavored with cardamom, they are similar to crullers or twisted doughnuts, and […]

Read More

Addie’s Crispy Salmon and Rice recipe from RESCUED

One of the most gratifying aspects of writing Rescued was speaking with so many thoughtful and insightful people about their second-chance dogs and their relationships with them. I spoke with Elissa Altman, the James Beard-award winning food writer at an especially tender time. Just a few weeks earlier, Elissa, her partner Susan, and their other rescue, […]

Read More