Tag Archives

Tag Archives | Recipe

Leesa Cross-Smith’s Pasta alla Norma Recipe

Leesa Cross-Smith’s Pasta alla Norma In This Close To Okay, my character Tallie encounters a man named Emmett on a bridge in the rain. He’s considering suicide and Tallie is a therapist but doesn’t tell him that. Instead, she plays him some music and talks to him, listens to him, shares her heart with him. […]

Read More

Mary Kay Andrews’s Hello, Summer Lemon Bars

Mary Kay Andrews’s Hello, Summer Lemon Bars Hello, Summer is set in a small, sleepy Florida town. When people think of Florida, they think of bright, sunny skies, and delicious citrus and these lemon bars are the perfect way to celebrate that! As a native Floridian, my lust for lemons—indeed any citrus, is, excuse the pun, deep-rooted. […]

Read More

Alka Joshi: The Palace Recipe for Royal Rabri from The Henna Artist

In this scene from THE HENNA ARTIST, Lakshmi, a woman who paints henna on the bodies of Jaipur’s wealthy women, is asked to meet with the Dowager Maharani for the first time. Malik, Lakshmi’s eight-year-old helper, has been told to wait outside the Maharani’s drawing room, but can’t resist sticking his head inside when the […]

Read More

Jodi Picoult’s “A Spark of Light” Missisippi Mud Cake

        Jodi Picoult chose a Mississippi Mud Cake to pair with a book club discussion of her novel A Spark of Light, set in Mississippi. Mississippi mud cakes and pies are thought to be named for the rich dark mud lining the banks of the Mississippi River. This cake recipe, adapted from Down Home: Treasured […]

Read More

Max’s Manhattan Cocktail Recipe from Sold on a Monday

Max’s Manhattan Cocktail Recipe from Sold on a Monday In my latest historical novel, Sold on a Monday, I was thrilled to include a swanky New York supper club from my previous book, The Edge of Lost—along with a cameo from a certain underworld character. Hence, to celebrate the end of Prohibition, I hope your book […]

Read More

Almost Certainly Not A Pie for #Pieathalon

  We relish the chance to experiment with vintage recipes and Dinner is Served 1972’s #Pieathalon promised a great opportunity to test a pie from the past. Over twenty bloggers swapped pie recipes from pre-1990 cookbooks for the event.  We received “Almost a Pie” from a 1978 Weight Watchers Hot Stuff Recipe pamphlet from Mimi at Once Upon a […]

Read More

End-of-the-Season Roasted Tomato Sauce

Read More

Mark Sullivan’s Beneath a Scarlet Sky Sicilian Broccoli and Sausage Recipe

               “I just finished reading Mark Sullivan’s Beneath A Scarlet Sky, an incredible novel.  There is a dish mentioned in the book for Sausage, Broccoli and Garlic that has me salivating.  The main character savors this dish. The book is set during World War II Italy and even the […]

Read More

Tara Westover’s Grandma-over-in-town’s Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies with EDUCATED

    In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated is an unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University. I was spending the afternoon with Grandma-over-in-town. I’d had a bath that morning, even though it wasn’t Sunday, and […]

Read More

That’s What She Said Kleinur (Icelandic Pastries) recipe

  Iceland is the No. 1 country in the world for gender equality, and while researching That’s What She Said: What Men Need to Know (and Women Need to Tell Them) About Working Together in Iceland, I quickly became addicted to kleinur, a traditional Icleandic confection.  Flavored with cardamom, they are similar to crullers or twisted doughnuts, and […]

Read More