Tara Westover’s Grandma-over-in-town’s Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies with EDUCATED

Tara Westover’s Grandma-over-in-town’s Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies with EDUCATED

 

 

In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated is an unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University.

I was spending the afternoon with Grandma-over-in-town. I’d had a bath that morning, even though it wasn’t Sunday, and I’d put on special clothes with no holes or stains so that, scrubbed and polished, I could sit in Grandma’s kitchen and watchher make pumpkin cookies. The autumn sun poured in through gossamer curtains and onto marigold tiles, giving the whole room an amber glow.
—Tara Westover

 Adapted from Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover. Copyright © 2018 Tara Westover. Reprinted by arrangement with Random House, a division of Penguin Random House LLC. All rights reserved.

Enter Educated giveaway

Tara Westover’s Grandma-over-in-town’s Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies with EDUCATED

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 10 minutes

In Tara Westover’s memoir EDUCATED, she recalls her Grandma-over-in-town baking Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies, and she shares her grandmother's recipe for book clubs and readers to enjoy.

Ingredients

  • 5 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons ground allspice
  • 1 cup butter
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 3 ½ cups canned pumpkin
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate morsels

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 375° F.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and spices in a medium bowl. In a large mixing bowl, cream butter, and sugar together until well blended. Add pumpkin, egg, and vanilla. Mix until combined. Stir in flour mixture. Fold in chocolate morsels. Drop by teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.
  3. Bake 11-12 minutes or until edges are firm. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.
https://www.bookclubcookbook.com/tara-westovers-grandma-over-in-towns-chocolate-chip-pumpkin-cookies-with-educated/

 

, , , , , , , ,